Day 4: Everything You Do..

DO EVERYTHING IN LOVE.

– 1 Corinthians 16:14

Can I just say, without sounding like a total drama queen, that each day into this I feel a little more like a failure. Not like a lost cause or anything. Just noting how much none of this sounds like me. And it is supposed to right?

Non-Christians seem to always be so quick to point out the hypocrisy of believers. And it leaves one feeling defensive and wanting to hide all shortcomings. That is how I feel at least.

But I can’t help but look at the passages about how LOVE drives out fear, about LOVING God with all of me, about LOVE for others, and about doing everything out of LOVE and not just feel like I’m coming up extremely short.

I spend so much time getting irritated or mad over the smallest stupidest things. As I said yesterday, I am afraid of nearly everything. And I don’t do things out of LOVE. Not out of LOVE for God, or love for people, not even out of LOVE for myself. I do things because they have to get done, or because I’ve been told to do them. I do things for all sorts of reasons and in all sorts of attitudes. But so often, LOVE has nothing to do with them, and I have nothing to do with LOVE.

Yet I do not despair. Maybe that is foolish but when I dig deeper I have hope..

And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.

– Romans 5:5

See, the promise has already been made. And God is not like us- he doesn’t make promises that he fails to keep. He doesn’t change His mind or lie (Numbers 23:19).

So I will continue to call on the Holy Spirit, to fill my heart with LOVE. The LOVE that is made to handle everything that this world can throw at me and still endure. God’s LOVE, which endures forever. And like the giver Himself, the gift of LOVE is unfailing. But I need to open my heart, and accept that kind of a gift. I am seeking, and knocking, and asking, and I trust that God will be faithful to follow through on His promise.

Father, You have promised your Holy Spirit to fill me with LOVE. I claim this promise and know that like your word says- this hope will not lead to disappointment. Thank you for your LOVE. Thank you for the Holy Spirit. 

Holy Spirit, come, fill my heart and change me. Make me a LOVER of God and of His creation. Help me to live from the overflow of that amazing LOVE. 

Thank you for a LOVE so bold as to rescue me from my sins, from the mess I was born into and the mess I had made all for myself. You have always been faithful and I am seeking to live in your LOVE and grace. 

In the name of the Son, Jesus, who laid himself down out of the LOVE he had for humanity, I pray all of these things.

AMEN. 

 

Leave a Reply

