4 Days for the price of 1 (Days 7-10)

So these past several days have been a bit hectic. I spent Saturday and Sunday on the road and yesterday and today trying to unpack and settle in. It’s official: I’ve moved to Minnesota.

Days driving in solitude are perfect opportunities to think and pray (and listen to good tunes). Some thoughts about LOVE came to me:

LOVE is very important to be noticed in the here and now. I’ve just spent some wonderful time with people I LOVE very much, but the whole time I was there I was mentally checked out. As soon as I was driving away I realized I could never get that time back. And it was precious, and I am so glad I had it, I just wish I would’ve noticed it more.

Also I had a great opportunity to remember that it is important to not just know you LOVE somebody, you need to make sure that somebody really knows it too. I have this idea of myself as a thoughtful person, and what I’ve realized is that I am really thoughtful– it’s just that my thoughts rarely turn into words or actions. It isn’t enough to think about wonderful things to say or do for someone. It is important to carry through on those thoughts and let people know how much you LOVE them.

I saw my dad today. I LOVE him. I hope at some point he can realize how much. How worthwhile I think he is. Hope I really someday get the courage to express that to him in a way he might get.

Okay, well that is rambly and I’m sorry. I’m still tired and trying to get thoughts together in my head. I just didn’t want to miss another night of blogging. Somehow this verse ties into these thoughts, (but I’ll have to piece that together when I’m in my right mind)

For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.

Galatians 5:13  

 

Holy Father,

You have led me on a journey and I don’t know exactly what I’m doing. But I pray that your Spirit would dwell in me and lead me on. Give me the LOVE that you have promised so that I might LOVE others well. Prepare my heart for all that I might encounter, that I may live a life that spreads the grace, LOVE, and peace that you have poured out for your children. Help me to see your LOVE in action, help me to be your LOVE in action. 

In the name of Jesus, AMEN. 

Leave a Reply

