Day 11: LOVE is noisy

I’m staying with my sister, her husband, and their 2 smart and energetic 8 year old boys. Understand, for the past decade I have lived alone. I have a dog, and a TV, but I have really very little noise and activity in my daily life.

So, for now life has gotten very noisy. And sometimes it feels too overwhelming or chaotic for me. And I think, wow, they must hate their lives. But then I start to see something deeper and more real than I understand. When you LOVE people, you can handle so much more than you would think. My sister and her husband are worn out, a lot, but I don’t think they’d trade in those boys for anything. And after watching the boys throw a fit or get all wound up, they still push past the frustration and LOVE them. It’s weird.

But it is all a microcosm of the LOVE God has for us. God LOVES us, despite us. And when we screw up again and again, he still somehow looks at us with LOVE.

I think it has something to do with this:

LOVE keeps no record of wrongs- 1 Corinthians 13:5

There are plenty of things I don’t understand about God and about LOVE, but this is the one that I cannot understand at all.

How can anyone, even the most divine, keep no record of my mistakes or screw-ups. Sometimes you glimpse a little of that understanding when you watch a parent so gently LOVE a child that has been a pain in the neck all day long. But I still wonder, at what point do you have enough?

 

Dear Father, 

Thank you that you do not keep a record of my wrongs. That you, being LOVE itself, have the grace to forgive and forget. I am sorry that I test that so severely. Please continue to teach me LOVE, and help me to see it and live it more and more. Thank you for the object lessons in my life– the view of a parents LOVE, the innocence of a child’s LOVE. Continue to build these things in me and open my heart to accept the LOVE that surrounds me and to give it to any and all who need. 

Thank you, in Jesus name I pray. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

