Day 12: LOVED anyway

I’ve spent the last few years trying to figure out how to be a vulnerable person. Maybe that sounds funny- but I was raised to be always performing. I am strong, and brave and nothing can hurt or scare me– at least that is what I think I’m supposed to show people. But when I read the Bible, and when I come across people who seem to be living right lives, I am convinced that LOVE is vulnerable, because vulnerability is human and authentic.

But I still very much struggle, putting yourself out there. Fully, really, and asking people to accept you for you. That is crazy terrifying.

And this is going to be a sloppy transition, but I think that is the closest I can come to beginning to understand the timing of God’s plan.

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

-Romans 5:8

Like I said, sloppy. God isn’t insecure, he isn’t hoping we like Him. But it was that crazy, authentic LOVE that said, no matter what the response is I am taking this chance. I will offer you a rescue in the way that I can, and you get to decide if I’m worth it.

And that is where things stand. God so LOVED that He gave and we get to respond. And I think about LOVE and God, and I try to relate it to how I LOVE. I LOVE so incomplete and inauthentic. I will walk away when things get hard, and He will enter into the mess to clean it up. I will ignore and neglect and He will work and fix.

We were still sinners, still focused on ourselves and our own disasters. He came anyway. He LOVED anyway. He said I will offer a chance, a hope. And He did.

He ‘demonstrated’ His LOVE for us- and now we have a chance to learn from that teaching and respond. To LOVE Him, to LOVE others. The people around us are the same sinners He came to save. They are just as broken and imperfect as we are. And He LOVED them enough too.

Pretty amazing stuff. I have insufficient understanding to realize just how amazing. So I’ll just keep relating to it the best I know how. As He gives me more understanding. And more LOVE.

Father,

Thank you. Fill me with your LOVE and help me to live authentically from it. You have been so generous and bold in your LOVING. I have so often been so cowardly and insecure in mine. Forgive me and help me to do better. Thank you that I don’t have to stay who I have been. You make all things new, and I know that you are making me new. Fill me with your Spirit and change me. 

In the name of Jesus I pray, AMEN. 

Leave a Reply

